## SPECIAL MEETING MINUTES BOARD OF EDUCATION – SCHOOL DISTRICT OF COLBY MONDAY, APRIL 24, 2017 COLBY DISTRICT EDUCATION CENTER

The Special School Board Meeting on April 24, 2017, was called to order at 6:30 p.m. in the Colby District Education Center by Board President, William Tesmer. Members present were William Tesmer, Cheryl Ploeckelman, Jean Schmitt, Seth Pinter, Lavinia Bonacker Jennifer Lopez and Eric Elmhorst. Also present were Superintendent Steven Kolden and Kristen Seifert. Student Board Representative Erica Gaetz was absent.

The meeting notice was posted according to the requirements of the open meeting law.

Mr. Tesmer, Board President called for the Election of Officers: Mrs. Ploeckelman nominated William Tesmer for Board President, seconded by Mr. Elmhorst. No other nominations. Motion by Mrs. Bonacker, seconded by Mrs. Lopez, to close nominations and cast a unanimous ballot for Mr. Tesmer for Board President. Voice vote - motion carried.

Mrs. Lopez nominated Cheryl Ploeckelman for Board Vice President, seconded by Mr. Elmhorst. No other nominations. Motion by Mr. Pinter, seconded by Mrs. Lopez, to close nominations and cast a unanimous ballot for Mrs. Ploeckelman for Board Vice President. Voice vote - motion carried.

Mrs. Ploeckelman nominated Eric Elmhorst for Board Clerk, seconded by Mrs. Bonacker. No other nominations. Motion by Mrs. Bonacker, seconded by Mrs. Lopez, to close nominations and cast a unanimous ballot for Mr. Elmhorst for Board Clerk. Voice vote - motion carried.

Mr. Elmhorst nominated Seth Pinter for Board President, seconded by Mrs. Lopez. No other nominations. Motion by Mr. Pinter, seconded by Mrs. Bonacker, to close nominations and cast a unanimous ballot for Mr. Pinter for Board Treasurer. Voice vote - motion carried.

Mr. Tesmer, Board President, made the following committee and position appointments:

Lavinia Bonacker as WASB Annual Meeting Delegate. Alternate – William Tesmer.

Cheryl Ploeckelman as CESA #10 Annual Meeting Delegate. Alternate – Eric Elmhorst

Bill Tesmer as Representative to the Colby IDEA Foundation, Inc.

Seth Pinter as Representative to the District Technology Committee.

Cheryl Ploeckelman as Representative to the ESEA Plan Committee.

Seth Pinter, Board Treasurer, as Pension Plan Trustee.

Kristen Seifert as Recording Secretary for Board of Education Meetings.

Motion by Mr. Pinter, seconded by Mrs. Ploeckelman, to designate the Nicolet Bank, Advantage Community Bank and Forward Financial Bank as depositories for school district funds. Voice vote - motion carried.

Motion by Mr. Pinter, seconded by Mr. Elmhorst to designate Ruder Ware as the Legal Counsel to the District. Voice vote – motion carried.

Motion by Mr. Pinter, seconded by Mr. Elmhorst to approve Johnson Block & Company for audit services. Voice vote – motion carried.

Motion by Mr. Pinter, seconded by Mrs. Bonacker to designate the Tribune Phonograph as the official paper of publication for school district business. Voice vote – motion carried.

Motion by Mrs. Ploeckelman, seconded by Mrs. Bonacker to approve the use of signature stamp/facsimile signatures for Board of Education officers. Voice vote – motion carried.

Mr. Tesmer, Board President, appointed the following members to Board of Education Standing Committees:

Policy & Curriculum Committee – Eric Elmhorst, Chair, Cheryl Ploeckelman, Jean Schmitt. Facilities & Transportation Committee – Bill Tesmer, Chair, Lavinia Bonacker, Cheryl Ploeckelman. Personnel Committee – Jennifer Lopez, Chair, Lavinia Bonacker, Jean Schmitt. Financial Affairs Committee – Seth Pinter, Chair, Eric Elmhorst, Jennifer Lopez.

Motion by Mrs. Ploeckelman, seconded by Mrs. Lopez, to approve the 2017-18 Board Meeting schedule including dates and locations as presented including the annual meeting at the District Education Office with a start time of 6:30 PM for regular Board meetings. Voice vote - motion carried.

Motion by Mrs. Ploeckelman, seconded by Mr. Elmhorst, to adjourn the meeting. Voice vote-motion carried. Meeting adjourned at 6:57 PM

Respectfully Submitted:

Eric Elmhorst, Clerk

Kristen Seifert, Recording Secretary